2019 Teacher of the Year Banquet

2019 Indiana Teacher of the Year Banquet

CSO has been a proud sponsor of the Indiana Teacher of the Year Banquet for many years and is honored to provide the glass apples awarded to the top ten finalists each year.

The Indiana Department of Education has conducted the Teacher of the Year program for over 60 years to recognize outstanding teachers across the state. The program’s mission is to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession. Finalists are chosen from a pool of applicants and the selection committee is made up of former recipients, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders, and representatives from higher education.  

Lawrence Township’s Tamara Markey was recently named the 2019 Indiana Teacher of the Year. Markey teaches pre-engineering at the McKenzie Center for Innovation and Technology. She will assist the Indiana Department of Education throughout the next year and will serve as an ambassador for teachers all across Indiana. She will also represent Indiana in the national Teacher of the Year competition.